CSR

Committed to gender equality, BNP Paribas supports the film WOMAN

5 March 2020

For many years BNP Paribas has been helping to improve the position of women in the economy and in society, fostering equal rights and opportunities across genders. This year, the Group’s efforts include support for WOMAN, a film by Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand.

Promoting inclusion and equality

BNP Paribas has been committed to the fight for equal rights between men and women for many years. This entails both implementing new measures and improving existing practices, in order to ensure a culture of inclusion and respect for differences. It also means supporting initiatives that campaign for this issue.

To aid progress in what is both a social and societal challenge and meet the UN sustainable development goal to “achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls”, the Group embraces social commitment in its decision-making. For example, it develops its own ambitious diversity programmes, but also provides backing to creative works that promote the visibility of this cause.

WOMAN by Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand

Today, the BNP Paribas Group champions WOMAN, a film directed by Anastasia Mikova and Yann Arthus-Bertrand, as main partner. A homage to women all over the world, it premiered at the 76th Venice Film Festival in September 2019, winning the Sfera 1932 Award. It will be released in cinemas in French-speaking Switzerland on 11 March 2020.

Proceeds from the film will be donated to WOMAN(s), an association whose mission is to train women and girls from around the world in media professions.

 

Seeing the world from a woman’s perspective

WOMAN was born of a desire to see things through women’s eyes and to cast a light on the place they occupy in today’s world – and the world of the future. The film takes its audience to meet nearly 2,000 women from across the globe, bringing to the screen the stories of women of all ages and origins, shaped by culture, faith and family history.

Besides seeking to condemn some of the injustices that women face throughout their lives, this film looks in admiration at their determination to overcome obstacles and stereotypes, dealing with such varied themes as motherhood, education, marriage and financial independence.

RSE

Engagé en faveur de l’égalité Femmes / Hommes, BNP Paribas soutient le film « WOMAN »

5 mars 2020

Depuis de nombreuses années, BNP Paribas, contribue à accroître la place des femmes dans l’économie et la société en favorisant l’égalité des droits et des chances entre les femmes et les hommes. Cette année, le Groupe s’engage auprès d’Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand en soutenant le film « WOMAN ».

Promouvoir l’inclusion et l’égalité

BNP Paribas est engagé depuis de nombreuses années en faveur de l’égalité des droits entre les hommes et les femmes. Cet engagement passe à la fois par la mise en place de dispositifs et la valorisation des pratiques. Celles-ci assurant une culture d’inclusion et de respect des différences, mais également par le soutien à des initiatives engagées sur cet enjeu sociétal.

Pour faire avancer cet enjeu social et sociétal, et atteindre l’objectif de l’ONU : « Parvenir à l’égalité des sexes et autonomiser les femmes et les filles », le Groupe prend des décisions engagées en construisant, par exemple, des programmes de mixité ambitieux, mais aussi en soutenant des créations qui renforcent la visibilité de cette cause.

WOMAN, de Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand

Aujourd’hui, le Groupe BNP Paribas accompagne la sortie du film WOMAN, réalisé par Anastasia Mikova et Yann Arthus-Bertrand,  en tant que partenaire principal. Projeté pour la première fois à l’occasion de la 76ème édition de La Mostra de Venise en septembre 2019, le film qui rend hommage aux femmes du monde entier a reçu le Prix Premio Sfera 1932 et sortira dans les salles de Suisse romande, le 11 mars 2020.

Les bénéfices du film seront reversés à l’association WOMAN(s) qui a pour mission de former aux métiers des médiats les femmes et jeunes filles à travers le monde.

 

Voir le monde à travers le regard des femmes

WOMAN répond à l’envie de regarder le monde avec les yeux des femmes et de mettre en lumière la place qu’elles occupent dans le monde d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Il amène ainsi le public à la rencontre de près de 2000 femmes aux quatre coins du monde, portant à l’écran des parcours de vie de femmes de tous âges et de toutes origines, façonnées par leur culture, leur foi ou encore leur histoire familiale.

Au-delà de la volonté de dénoncer certaines injustices auxquelles les femmes doivent faire face au cours de leur existence, ce film porte un regard admiratif sur leur détermination à dépasser les obstacles et les stéréotypes, en abordant des thèmes aussi variés que la maternité, l’éducation, le mariage ou encore l’indépendance financière.