BNP Paribas in Switzerland

A week to promote and celebrate diversity and inclusion

22 October 2020

From 12 to 16 October 2020, a series of events at the bank highlighted various diversity and inclusion issues, and provoked discussion of some inspiring stories.

 

Gender, age, sexual orientation, physical appearance, origin and religion as well as education and social/personal background are all characteristics that make each of us unique, but can also lead to discrimination. This is why it is essential to address these matters and discuss them openly.

The bank’s Diversity and Inclusion Week provided nearly 230 members of staff with an opportunity to meet up and discuss the issues at stake.

Workshops to encourage inclusive behaviour

Two training programmes on sexism/harassment and employee parenthood were offered to equip staff for a better life together, at the bank and at home.

This year the bank changed its “new parents” support policy, in particular by extending birth leave (maternity, adoption and second parent) to all family types. Encouraging a healthy work/life balance is also central to our commitments as a responsible employer.

Inspiring inclusive leadership

Caroline Courtin, Group Head of Diversity & Inclusion, reminded our staff of the core role that managers play in ensuring diversity and inclusion. Through discussions with and stories from some of the bank’s other managers in Switzerland, including Lionel Berthier, Head of Human Resources in Switzerland, BNP Paribas presented the various forms of support available to help managers understand this responsibility.

“[To be an inclusive manager] is really about us embodying inclusivity and being a role model through our behaviours and actions. […] Creating a respectful workplace creates and fosters productivity, makes people feel comfortable, feel free to speak and to bring new ideas and it all translate value to client, and ultimately to the bank.” Garrick Smith, Head of BNP Securities Services.

 

The inclusion of people with disabilities means giving them the choice of doing what they would like to do as everyone else.”

Roland Sigrist, Executive Director of Cybathlon

Boosting inclusion of individuals with reduced mobility

The bank is committed to improving access for and the inclusion of individuals with reduced mobility. This commitment is reflected in BNP Paribas’s inclusion policy as well as key partnerships such as that with the Swiss Open wheelchair tennis tournament and Cybathlon, which is an international competition revolving around cutting-edge technology to support disabled individuals.

At Pride, we want employees to feel comfortable to reveal part of their private life, in a context where the barrier between professional and private life is getting thinner”

Aurélien Dubus, Sponsor of Pride network

Rallying staff around inclusion issues

Diversity week was also a chance to bring our MixCity, WeGenerations and Pride staff networks back into the spotlight. All three networks underscore the fact that matters of diversity and inclusion must be part of employees’ daily routine and lived out by each person if they are to be an integral part of our business culture.

“We see that things are progressing and that’s a good thing. However, we all agree that there are still room for improvements to reach a full equality.” Claudie Gheno, member of the MixCity board.

BNP Paribas en Suisse

Une semaine pour promouvoir et célébrer la diversité et l’inclusion

22 octobre 2020

Du 12 au 16 octobre 2020, une série d’évènements organisée au sein de la banque a permis de mettre en lumière différents enjeux de la diversité et de l’inclusion et de générer des échanges autour de témoignages inspirants.

Genre, âge, orientation sexuelle, apparence physique, origine, religion, mais également éducation, milieu social ou histoire personnelle sont autant de caractéristiques qui rendent chacun(e) unique mais qui peuvent aussi ouvrir la voie à des discriminations. C’est la raison pour laquelle il est essentiel d’adresser et de discuter ouvertement de ces sujets.

La Semaine de la Diversité et de l’Inclusion au sein de la banque a été l’occasion de proposer différents moments d’échange et de rencontre auxquels près de 230 collaborateurs(trices) ont participé.

Des ateliers pour favoriser les comportements inclusifs

Deux formations sur les questions du sexisme et du harcèlement et sur les enjeux de la parentalité au travail ont été proposées aux collaborateurs afin de leur donner les clés pour un mieux vivre ensemble, à la banque et à la maison.

Cette année la banque a fait évoluer sa politique d’accompagnement des « nouveaux parents », notamment en ouvrant les congés de naissance (maternité, adoption et deuxième parent) à tous les modèles familiaux. Favoriser l’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et personnelle est par ailleurs au cœur de nos engagements en tant qu’employeur responsable.

Inspirer pour un leadership inclusif

Caroline Courtin, Group Head of Diversity & inclusion, a rappelé à nos collaborateurs le rôle central des managers dans la gestion de la diversité et de l’inclusion. À travers ces échanges et témoignages avec d’autres managers de la banque en Suisse, dont Lionel Berthier, directeur des ressources humaines en Suisse, BNP Paribas a présenté les différentes formes d’accompagnement aux managers pour les aider à mieux appréhender cette responsabilité.

« [Etre un gérant inclusif] c’est incarner l’inclusivité et faire office de modèle à travers nos comportements et nos actions. […] La mise en place d’un environnement de travail respectueux favorise la productivité, met les gens à l’aise, leur permet de s’exprimer librement et d’apporter de nouvelles idées, ce qui crée de la valeur ajoutée pour le client et donc pour la banque » Garrick Smith, Head of BNP Securities Services.

 

Inclure des personnes porteuses d'un handicap, c'est leur donner le choix de faire ce qu'elles souhaitent, comme tout le monde ”

Roland Sigrist, Executive Director de Cybathlon

Booster l’inclusion des personnes à mobilité réduite

La banque s’engage en faveur de l’accessibilité et l’inclusion des personnes à mobilité réduite. Cet engagement se traduit à travers la politique inclusive de BNP Paribas mais aussi à travers des partenariats emblématiques comme avec le tournoi de tennis en fauteuil du Swiss Open, ou avec le Cybathlon, compétition mondiale autour des dernières technologies d’assistance pour personnes en situation de handicap.

« Chez Pride, nous voulons que les employés se sentent libres de révéler une partie de leur vie privée, dans un monde où la frontière entre vie professionnelle et vie privée devient de plus en plus mince.”

Aurélien Dubus, Sponsor de Pride network

Mobiliser les collaborateurs autour des sujets d’inclusion

La semaine de la diversité est aussi l’occasion de re-mettre en lumière nos réseaux de collaborateurs que sont MixCity, WeGenerations et Pride. Ils incarnent tous trois le fait que les enjeux de Diversité et d’Inclusion doivent être vécus dans le quotidien des collaborateurs et portés par chacun(e) pour faire partie intégrante de la culture d’entreprise.

« Les choses évoluent, et c’est encourageant. Cependant, nous savons tous qu’il reste du chemin à parcourir pour atteindre une égalité parfaite. » Claudie Gheno, membre du conseil d’administration de MixCity.