BNP Paribas in Switzerland

Meeting with Marie-Angélique Rault

28 July 2020

Marie-Angélique has led the Learning & Development team with boundless enthusiasm since joining BNP Paribas in Switzerland a year ago. Lifelong learning is a key priority for the company and an integral part of our commitment as an employer to the continuous professional development of each and every staff member.
The training we offer is constantly adapted to address employees’ skills gaps and career objectives, and it has proven more important than ever in 2020.
Marie-Angélique spoke with us about the challenges she has faced this year and how she succeeded in overcoming them.

Please could you introduce yourself in a few sentences ?

After stints working for other banks, I joined BNP Paribas in 2013 in Canada as part of the Cash Management team. I moved into L&D in 2015 and then transferred to Switzerland in June 2019 to head up Learning & Development for the Swiss region within the HR Change Management team.

What does a typical day at L&D look like for you?

Day to day, my role is to define, build and implement programmes to develop the skills of our staff in line with the Bank’s strategic priorities. I am also responsible for fostering a culture of lifelong learning.

What difficulties do you face?

Personally, I would say that the main challenge stems from the fact that we need to constantly adapt to the ever-changing environment in which we find ourselves.
That’s why it is vital that we help our staff and managers to prepare for the future as effectively as possible in terms of both mindset and new technical and digital skills.

The goal is to help keep the teams engaged, bolster their performance and enable them to acquire the skills of tomorrow that will be key to our transformation.
The only way for us to meet these challenges is to develop the skills of our employers and managers in a number of areas. We have completely overhauled the training we offer to achieve this. We have identified the themes that will make a vital contribution to the success of our transformation (including change management, innovation, digital culture and the management development programme).

We have also sought to open up access to this range of training options by selecting the most suitable formats, including short formats such as workshops. Lastly, we have decided to draw on our internal resources and develop a “Social Learning” approach. As a matter of fact, we have a number of internal experts who are happy to pass on their knowledge to other members of staff. I think this is a very powerful approach in terms of engagement at this turbulent time

Has demand for training among staff members changed at all since the start of the year?

My feeling is that demand among staff members has risen over the months. We have noticed that they are spending time on their development not only to meet a specific need but also out of a simple desire to progress. Equally, our community of “internal trainers” has expanded. I think that they are noticing the benefits of sharing their expertise and the value of highlighting their work.

How have you and the L&D team continued to support staff members during the lockdown and now that lockdown has been lifted?

Throughout the COVID-19 period, all of our classroom training sessions were put on hold. We worked with the Change Management/L&D team to find an alternative, though, because we thought that it was essential to keep in touch with our colleagues. That led us to set up remote training on a wide array of topics linked to what we were going through as a workforce (parenting while working from home, digital tools, time management and priorities in a home office, the impact of COVID-19 on mental health and more). These short-form sessions were an instant hit and, in the end, even after lockdown, we’re planning to continue offering them.

What was this period like for you personally? What will you remember about it ?

Personally, I had a very positive experience. The Change Management/L&D team managed to bounce back very quickly, stay present for staff members and continue to help them to develop. I find it very interesting that we’ve lived through this period in which, practically overnight, we’ve had to adopt new working methods, make better use of our digital tools and just work together more effectively.

Are there any positive experiences you would like to share? Or a specific message?

I have two messages. The first is that I hope that this enthusiasm for development continues and grows and that the L&D/HR team will be there to help. The most important thing is that every member of staff takes the time to think about their needs and makes an effort to draw up their Personal Development Plan.
The second is that I’m obviously always on the lookout for new “internal trainers”! The bank is bursting with experts in every topic under the sun and we want to make the most of their expertise!

BNP Paribas en Suisse

Rencontre avec Marie-Angélique Rault

28 juillet 2020

Arrivée il y a un an au sein de BNP Paribas en Suisse, Marie-Angélique anime avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme l’équipe Learning & Development. Enjeu majeur pour toute entreprise, la formation continue de nos collaborateurs fait partie de notre promesse employeur dans le cadre du développement professionnel de chacun.

Constamment adaptée aux besoins des collaborateurs en compétences et objectifs d’évolution de parcours professionnel, la formation a joué un rôle incontournable en 2020.

Marie-Angélique nous parle de cette année pleine de défis et comment elle a réussi à les relever.

Peux-tu te présenter en quelques mots ?

Après avoir travaillé dans d’autres établissements bancaires, je suis rentrée chez BNP Paribas en 2013 au Canada ou j’ai rejoint les équipes du Cash Management. Dès 2015,  je me suis orientée vers l’activité Learning & Development, et dans le cadre d’une mobilité je suis arrivée en Suisse en juin 2019 pour prendre en charge l’activité L&D pour le territoire suisse au sein de l’équipe Change Management aux Ressources Humaines.

Peux-tu nous expliquer ton quotidien à la Formation ?

Quotidiennement mon rôle a pour but de définir, bâtir et de mettre en place le développement des compétences de nos collaborateurs et de les lier avec les enjeux stratégiques de notre Banque. J’ai également pour mandat de développer une culture d’apprentissage continue.

Quelles sont les difficultés auxquelles tu es confrontée ?

De mon point de vue, je dirais que le principal challenge est de s’adapter à un environnement en perpétuelle transformation nécessitant une adaptation et une agilité permanente.

Il est donc primordial d’accompagner nos collaborateurs et nos managers à mieux se préparer tant sur le plan du « mindset » que sur le plan des nouvelles expertises techniques et digitales.

L’objectif est donc de contribuer à engager davantage les équipes, à maintenir leurs performances et leur permettre d’acquérir les compétences de demain qui seront clés dans le cadre de notre transformation.

Face à ces enjeux, nous avons revu notre offre de formation. Nous avons notamment identifié les thèmes qui sont essentiels pour contribuer à la réussite de notre transformation (gestion du changement, innovation, culture digitale, programme pour le développement de nos managers…).

Nous avons également opté pour des formats encore plus adaptés comme des formats plus courts tels que des workshops. Et enfin, nous avons décidé de nous appuyer sur nos ressources en interne et de développer l’approche du « Social Learning ». En effet nous disposons de nombreux experts internes qui peuvent partager leurs connaissances avec les autres collaborateurs. Cette approche à laquelle je crois est très puissante au niveau de l’engagement.

Est-ce que l’appétence des collaborateurs pour les formations a changé depuis le début de l’année ?

Il me semble que l’appétence de nos collaborateurs s’est développée au fil des mois. Nous avons noté qu’ils consacraient du temps à leur développement non seulement pour répondre à un besoin mais aussi par envie d’évoluer tout simplement. Egalement, notre communauté de « formateurs internes » s’est agrandie. Je pense qu’ils constatent les bienfaits de partager leurs expertises et l’intérêt de mettre en avant leurs activités.

Comment as-tu réussi avec l’équipe Formation à continuer d’accompagner les collaborateurs pendant la période de confinement, puis de déconfinement ?

Durant la période de la Covid-19, toutes nos formations qui étaient prévues en « format classe » ont été stoppées. Nous avons cherché avec l’équipe Change Management / L&D une alternative car il nous paraissait essentiel de garder le contact avec nos collègues. Nous avons donc mis en place des formations à distance sur des thèmes divers en lien avec ce que nous pouvions vivre en tant que collaborateurs (parentalité et télétravail, outils digitaux, gestion du temps et des priorités en home office, Covid 19,  impact sur les métaux…). Très vite ces formats courts ont eu du succès et finalement même après cette période exceptionnelle, nous pensons continuer à proposer ce format.

Comment as-tu vécu toi-même cette période particulière ? que retiens-tu ?

Pour ma part j’ai vécu cette période d’une façon très positive. L’équipe Change Management /L&D a très vite su rebondir, rester présente pour les collaborateurs et continuer à leur donner des solutions pour se développer.  Je trouve cette période très instructive, où du jour au lendemain nous avons dû nous approprier les nouvelles méthodes de travail, mieux utiliser nos outils digitaux et tout simplement mieux collaborer ensemble.

As-tu des expériences positives à partager ? Un message en particulier ?

J’ai deux messages, le premier est que cet engouement pour se développer continue et s’élargisse. L’équipe L&D/RH est là pour y contribuer. Le plus important est que chaque collaborateur prenne le temps de réfléchir sur ses besoins et s’efforce à les formaliser dans son Plan de Développement Personnel.

Le second est que je suis évidemment toujours preneuse de nouveaux « formateurs internes » ! Notre banque regorge d’experts sur des domaines aussi divers que variés sur lesquels nous souhaitons capitaliser !