BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation

The BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation – Edward Hopper exhibition partner

11 February 2020

From 26 January to 17 May 2020, the Beyeler Foundation is presenting a collection of works by Edward Hopper (1882-1967), one of the foremost American painters of the 20th century.

The BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation is this year’s “multimedia partner”. The exhibition takes the form of a 3D short film entitled Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper directed by famous film director and photographer Wim Wenders.

A retrospective on the theme of landscapes

The Beyeler Foundation exhibition focuses on Hopper’s iconic depictions of the infinite expanses of America’s natural and urban landscapes. This is an aspect that is rarely at the forefront of exhibitions devoted to Hopper, yet it is key to understanding his work and its reception. The exhibition features watercolours and oils from the 1910s to the 1960s, offering a broad and fascinating panorama of the many facets of Hopper’s painting.

Video homage by Wim Wenders

Further enhancing the visitor’s experience, the Beyeler Foundation intends to show a 3D short film by Wim Wenders entitled Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper in one of the exhibition rooms. Intended as an immersive journey into Hopper’s world, the film will offer visitors an extraordinary experience as it delves into the heart of his paintings.

Digital interaction is central to the partnership between the Beyeler Foundation and the BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation

Having worked in partnership for many years, in 2018 the Beyeler Foundation and the PNP Paribas Swiss Foundation decided to take their co-operation to a new level. After collaborating on the restoration of major works of art, two years ago the two foundations opted to put new technologies to good use in cultural interpretation.

Fondation BNP Paribas Suisse

La Fondation BNP Paribas Suisse partenaire de l’exposition Edward Hopper

11 février 2020

Du 26 janvier au 17 mai 2020, la Fondation Beyeler présente un ensemble d’œuvres d’Edward Hopper (1882-1967), l’un des principaux peintres américains du XXème siècle.

A cette occasion, la Fondation BNP Paribas Suisse est le « partenaire multimédia » de l’exposition qui, cette année, prend la forme d’un court-métrage 3D Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper réalisé par le célèbre réalisateur et photographe Wim Wenders.

Une rétrospective sur le thème des paysages

L’exposition de la Fondation Beyeler met l’accent sur les représentations iconiques de Hopper des étendues infinies des paysages naturels et urbains de l’Amérique. Il s’agit là d’un aspect rarement placé au centre des expositions qui lui sont consacrées, mais pourtant clé pour comprendre son œuvre et sa réception. L’exposition réunit des aquarelles et des huiles des années 1910 aux années 1960, offrant ainsi un large et passionnant panorama des multiples facettes de la peinture hoppérienne.

Hommage en vidéo par Wim Wenders

Pour parachever l’expérience du visiteur, la Fondation Beyeler propose dans l’une des salles de l’exposition de découvrir un court-métrage en 3 dimensions réalisé par Wim Wenders titré Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper. Ce court-métrage pensé comme un voyage immersif dans le monde de Hopper mènera les visiteurs au cœur de ses peintures pour une expérience hors du commun.

 

La médiation numérique au cœur du partenariat entre la Fondation Beyeler et la Fondation BNP Paribas Suisse

Partenaires de longue date, la Fondation Beyeler et la Fondation BNP Paribas Suisse ont choisi de faire évoluer leur partenariat courant 2018. Après avoir œuvré ensembles pour la restauration d’œuvres majeures, depuis maintenant 2 ans, les deux fondations ont choisi de mettre les nouvelles technologies au services de la médiation culturelle.