BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation

The BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation – Edward Hopper exhibition partner

11 February 2020

From 26 January to 17 May 2020, the Beyeler Foundation is presenting a collection of works by Edward Hopper (1882-1967), one of the foremost American painters of the 20th century.

The BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation is this year’s “multimedia partner”. The exhibition takes the form of a 3D short film entitled Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper directed by famous film director and photographer Wim Wenders.

A retrospective on the theme of landscapes

The Beyeler Foundation exhibition focuses on Hopper’s iconic depictions of the infinite expanses of America’s natural and urban landscapes. This is an aspect that is rarely at the forefront of exhibitions devoted to Hopper, yet it is key to understanding his work and its reception. The exhibition features watercolours and oils from the 1910s to the 1960s, offering a broad and fascinating panorama of the many facets of Hopper’s painting.

Video homage by Wim Wenders

Further enhancing the visitor’s experience, the Beyeler Foundation intends to show a 3D short film by Wim Wenders entitled Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper in one of the exhibition rooms. Intended as an immersive journey into Hopper’s world, the film will offer visitors an extraordinary experience as it delves into the heart of his paintings.

Digital interaction is central to the partnership between the Beyeler Foundation and the BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation

Having worked in partnership for many years, in 2018 the Beyeler Foundation and the PNP Paribas Swiss Foundation decided to take their co-operation to a new level. After collaborating on the restoration of major works of art, two years ago the two foundations opted to put new technologies to good use in cultural interpretation.

Die Stiftung BNP Paribas Schweiz

BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation offizieller Partner der Edward-Hopper-Ausstellung

11 Februar 2020

Vom 26. Januar bis zum 17. Mai 2020 zeigt die Fondation Beyeler Werke von Edward Hopper (1882-1967), einem der bedeutendsten amerikanischen Maler des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation übernimmt dabei die Rolle des „Multimedia-Partners“ für die Ausstellung, dieses Jahr mit dem 3D-Kurzfilm Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper des berühmten Regisseurs und Fotografen Wim Wenders.

Eine Retrospektive zur Landschaftskunst

Den Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung in der Fondation Beyeler bilden Hoppers ikonische Darstellungen der unendlichen Weite amerikanischer Landschaft und Stadtlandschaft. Es handelt sich dabei um ein Thema, das bisher kaum in den Fokus von Ausstellungen zu Edward Hopper gerückt wurde, aber von zentraler Bedeutung für das Verständnis und die Rezeption seines Werks ist. Die Ausstellung umfasst Aquarelle und Ölgemälde der 1910er- bis 1960er-Jahre und gewährt damit einen umfänglichen und spannenden Einblick in den Facettenreichtum der Hopper’schen Malerei.

Video-Hommage von Wim Wenders

Um das Erlebnis des Ausstellungsbesuchers abzurunden, zeigt die Stiftung Beyeler in einem Ausstellungsraum einen 3D-Kurzfilm von Wim Wenders mit dem Titel Two or Three Things I Know about Edward Hopper. Dieser Kurzfilm soll den Ausstellungsbesucher in die Welt Hoppers eintauchen lassen und ihn ins Innerste der Gemälde mitnehmen, um ihm ein außergewöhnliches Erlebnis zu vermitteln.

Die digitale Vermittlung im Mittelpunkt der Partnerschaft zwischen der Fondation Beyeler und der BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation

Als langjährige Partner haben die Fondation Beyeler und die BNP Paribas Swiss Foundation 2018 beschlossen, diese Partnerschaft weiterzuentwickeln. Nach nunmehr zwei Jahren der Zusammenarbeit bei der Restaurierung bedeutender Werke haben die beiden Stiftungen beschlossen, neue Technologien in den Dienst der kulturellen Mediation zu stellen.